Entry 5: Thanksgiving Thoughts

Boom, it’s Thanksgiving again.

Queue Facebook and Instagram feeds of … brace for it… turkey. Maybe a few pictures here and there of stuffing, and of cookies, and pies. But a majority of it will be of turkey. If it’s not of turkey, it’s of Thanksgiving well-wishes, and what everyone is ‘thankful’ for.

I called it, so don’t act surprised when it’s all you see on your social media feed. I fact I probably will be one of those posting a picture of my Thanksgiving meal with a status update of Thank God I wore stretchy pants, cuz Imma tear it up.

But it’s not a bad thing. In fact, it’s good that for one day, we are forced to take a day  to reflect on what really matters. We get so caught up in the stresses of everyday life and everything that doesn’t matter, that the important stuff gets pushed to the side.

Which leads to another point: It is disappointing to me that a day that is supposed to be about being appreciative of all the things in our lives has evolved into a  day where people can go shopping right after dinner to buy things that they may want. Black Friday midnight sales – to me- were pushing it, but now – somehow – the corporate retail world has seeped its way into our day of Thanks and convinced people that hey, that’s great that you’re thankful for what you have, but lets focus on the things that you don’t have.

What is more disappointing to me is that there are people that actually do cut their dinner short in order to shop on Thanksgiving. I mean, maybe their family sucks and they really need that retail therapy , but really – can it at least wait til Friday?

Anyways, I have a lot to be Thankful for. Life is good. Got an awesome family. Have the best of friends. While sometimes even these things get clouded by life’s little stresses – like the fact that my house is full of packaging paper, and boxes, and random ass shit. Seriously you guys, it’s like a tornado came by and said “Take that Winter!!! I know you love this!”…  and just blew everything all over the place – I am grateful that today I can take a timeout to be reminded of everything I have to be grateful for.

Happy Thanksgiving all!  Eat lots, spend quality time with family and friends. I know I will.

 

Entry 5: Thanksgiving Thoughts

Leave a Reply

