Entry 31: Where are All the Hot Lawyers?

TV totally skews how people are supposed to look like in real life.

Cops are supposed to be hot.

5foqrdi9k10tm

Doctors are supposed to be hot.

aoycbjozakjfi

Lawyers are supposed to be hot.

wnj24vgzakic0

Everyone is supposed to be hot. 

But in real life, are they really?

That’s Hollywood for you, implanting ideas of hotness, and even though I know what tv is intentionally doing to my thinking, I constantly find myself looking for that hot doctor or lawyer in real life, only to end up disappointed when he doesn’t exist.

Case in point, this past week I got summoned for jury duty. As I walked through the doorway, past security and into the main hall, a quick scan of all the suited professionals showed lawyers in outdated suits, and white hairs. No hot ones. Even when I was questioned for my jury selection, the lawyers that sat in the paneled table were old, weathered, and out of shape; nothing like the people that played them on television.

Do I want Hollywood to change they’re casting to reflect what real life doctors look like? I don’t know. While it is a mis-representation, a part of the reason why people look to television and movies is for that time-out from the real world and for that ability to somehow be vicariously in these alternate realities where everyone is attractive and have some scandalous or exciting thing happen to them. People may not want to admit it, but I think it’s true.

Anyways, I’m currently digging the show “The People Versus OJ Simpson” . Season 1 is on Netflix, and Season 2 is currently on FX. I was a little hesitant about watching it at first, but sometimes truth can be skewed by the narrative. I ended up watching it anyway and am hooked. They nailed down the casting for Marcia Clark and Johnnie Cochran and while I was so sure that I knew the facts of the case (I was in 5th grade when this all happened), the show definitely presents some interesting details behind the story. Definitely recommend.

Until next time…

 

Entry 31: Where are All the Hot Lawyers?

Leave a Reply

